Home › Guides › Flip phones and dumbphones
Phones for seniors without Google
Checked against the makers' own pages · Last reviewed October 15, 2026
Several flip and keypad phones in our database list features such as big buttons, large text, loud speakers, hearing aid compatibility ratings and help or SOS buttons. None of them runs Google Play. The Lively Jitterbug Flip3 is the one sold specifically "for older adults" in the US, but it works only on Lively's own service. Below, each phone's features are listed only where its maker states them, with the carrier and lock status. [1][2][3][4][5][6]
On this page
Comparison: what each maker says
Every entry comes from the maker's or seller's own page, checked Oct. 15, 2026. "Not listed" means we didn't find it on the maker's pages; it doesn't mean the phone lacks it.
| Phone | Who the maker aims it at | Buttons, screen, sound | Hearing aid rating | Help / SOS button | Carrier and lock | Price (Oct. 15, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jitterbug Flip3 | "Older adults who want a simple cell phone" | Big backlit tactile buttons; large high-contrast screen with big text; loud speaker; voice dialing | HAC 2019 (6.91 dB gain with a hearing aid, 13.00 dB without) | Help button for Lively's Urgent Response (needs a subscription) | Lively only; "cannot be used with other carriers" | $59.99 on sale (regular $79.99), plus a Lively plan |
| TCL Flip 3 | Not stated | Large buttons; large printed keys; simple interface; powerful speaker | M4/T4 | External SOS button | Sold by Verizon (locked to Verizon) | $99.99 at Verizon |
| TCL Flip Pro | Not stated | Large tactile keypad; extra-large text option; amplified loudspeaker; Real Time Text and TTY | M4/T4 | Not listed | Sold by Verizon (locked to Verizon) | $79.99 at Verizon |
| TCL FLIP 4 5G | Not stated | Large buttons; large-print keys; amplified speaker; adjustable text size | HAC 2019 (15.77 dB with a hearing aid, 21.19 dB without) | Not listed | Sold by T-Mobile (locked to T-Mobile) | $119.99 full price at T-Mobile |
| Kyocera DuraXA Equip | Rugged phone for business use | Large font; large, tactile, glove-friendly keypad; 100 dB+ front loudspeakers | M4/T4 | Programmable SOS key | Unlocked; AT&T, T-Mobile and several prepaid carriers, not Verizon | $215.99 list (Kyocera store) |
| Sunbeam F1 Pro | Families who want a phone "without the distractions" of most modern devices | Earpiece volume up to 85 dB | Not listed | Not listed | Unlocked; Sunbeam lists Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile | $359 to $389 (Sunbeam shop) |
| Masstel Fami 8 4G | Parents and older users (Vietnam) | Big-font screen; large printed keys; loud speaker; spoken key numbers | Not listed | SOS key calls a preset number | Vietnam only; no US LTE bands | 650,000 ₫ (Masstel store) |
| Masstel Izi T9 4G | Older people and workers (Vietnam) | Large keys; big-font screen; simple menu; loud "2030 Box" speaker | Not listed | Not listed | Vietnam only; bands not published | 650,000 ₫ (Masstel store) |
| Welio T100 | Not stated beyond the keypad (Turkey) | Large keypad "for the elderly" | Not listed | SOS (help) key | Turkey only; 2G only (no 3G or 4G) | ₺2,799 incl. VAT (Welio store) |
More flip and keypad phones are in our flip phones list and the full database, where you can filter by carrier. [1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16][17][18]
Big buttons, large text and loud sound
- Jitterbug Flip3: Lively lists "big, tactile buttons with backlighting," a "large, higher-contrast screen and big text," "easy menus," a no-slip grip, speed dial and a loud speaker. You can place a call by saying "Dial" and the contact's name. Lively's user guide covers text size, Read Out (the phone reads the screen aloud) and Real-Time Text.
- TCL Flip 3: TCL lists an "easy navigation keyboard with large buttons and dedicated shortcut keys for favorite contacts and messages," "largely printed, easy-to-read keys" and a powerful speaker.
- TCL Flip Pro: TCL lists a "large, tactile" keypad, a 2.8-inch inner screen "customizable with extra-large text," and an enhanced power amplifier that "delivers loud sound for hands-free calls."
- TCL FLIP 4 5G: TCL lists large buttons, large-print keys and an amplified speaker. T-Mobile says its 3.2-inch inner screen lets you customize text size, colors and brightness.
- Kyocera DuraXA Equip: Kyocera's spec sheet lists "large font and clear display," a "large, tactile, glove-friendly keypad" and "100dB+ front-facing loud speakers." It's a rugged phone Kyocera sells for business use (rated IP68).
- Sunbeam F1 Pro: Sunbeam's spec sheet lists earpiece volume "up to 85 db."
Hearing aid compatibility ratings
The FCC explains the two ways these ratings are given. Under the older standard, the "M" rating (M1 to M4, "with M4 being the best") covers interference with hearing aids in acoustic mode, and the "T" rating (T1 to T4) covers hearing aids with a telecoil. The FCC counts a phone as hearing aid compatible under that standard at M3/T3 or better. The newer "2019 ANSI Standard" drops the M and T ratings and adds a volume requirement called conversational gain; phones certified under it must list their conversational gain with and without hearing aids on the package.
What the makers state:
- HAC 2019: Jitterbug Flip3 (6.91 dB with a hearing aid, 13.00 dB without, per Lively) and TCL FLIP 4 5G (15.77 dB with, 21.19 dB without, per TCL).
- M4/T4: TCL Flip 3, TCL Flip Pro and Kyocera DuraXA Equip.
- Not listed: Sunbeam F1 Pro, the Masstel phones and the Welio T100.
The FCC says carriers must let you try phones in their stores, and it encourages people to test phones with their own hearing aids before buying. [1][2][3][4][6][7][16][17][18][19]
Help and SOS buttons
- Jitterbug Flip3: the Help button calls Lively's Urgent Response agents. Lively's user guide says access to the agents "requires subscription to Urgent Response service," there is a 10-second delay so you can cancel an accidental press, and Urgent Response and 911 calls work only where there is cellular service. Lively's Link app can alert family when you call Urgent Response.
- TCL Flip 3: TCL says it has "a dedicated external SOS button that allows you to call for help in case of an emergency."
- Kyocera DuraXA Equip: a "bold, textured SOS key," which Kyocera describes as a "programmable key to send an alert for quick assistance or customize with PTT Emergency calling" (push-to-talk needs a subscription).
- Masstel Fami 8 4G: Masstel says its SOS key calls an emergency number you set up in advance to let family know.
- Welio T100: Welio lists a help (SOS) key.
Carriers, plans and carrier locks
- One small carrier only: the Jitterbug Flip3 needs a Lively plan, chosen when you activate it, and Lively says it "cannot be used with other carriers." As of Oct. 15, 2026, Lively's flip phone plans start at $14.99 a month with paperless billing (Basic, 300 minutes and 300 texts), plus a $3.23 monthly admin fee, taxes and a $35 activation fee.
- Carrier phones (locked): Verizon sells the TCL Flip 3 and TCL Flip Pro. Verizon says phones bought from it are locked to its network and unlock automatically when bought at full retail price or paid off (postpaid), or after 365 days of paid service (prepaid). T-Mobile sells the TCL FLIP 4 5G; its unlock policy asks for 40 days of active use and a paid-off phone (postpaid), or 365 days or more than $100 in refills (prepaid).
- Unlocked, bring your own plan: Kyocera sells the DuraXA Equip unlocked and lists AT&T, Boost Mobile, Cricket, Consumer Cellular, Metro, Mint Mobile, T-Mobile and UScellular as compatible, and Verizon/Visible as not compatible. Sunbeam lists Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile and says it "does not sell phone service."
Unlocked phones still need the right bands for your carrier. See phone bands and US carriers and carrier unlocked vs. bootloader unlocked. [1][6][7][9][10][11][12][13][15]
Google apps on these phones
None of these phones has Google Play. The TCL phones run KaiOS, a separate system with its own KaiStore: TCL says the Flip Pro comes with Google Search and Google Maps preloaded, and the FLIP 4 5G has a shortcut to "some of the most popular Google apps." The Jitterbug Flip3's user guide lists only Lively's own apps (phone, contacts, texts, camera, weather and tools such as a calculator and reminders), with no app store. [2][3][4][8]
Phones sold outside the US
Two Vietnamese keypad phones in our database are marketed to older people, but neither is set up for US networks. Masstel says the Fami 8 4G is made for parents, with a big-font screen, large printed keys, a loud speaker, spoken key numbers and an SOS key; its LTE bands are 1, 3, 7, 8 and 20. Masstel says the Izi T9 is for older people and workers who only need calls, with large keys, a loud speaker and a 3,000 mAh battery; Masstel doesn't publish its bands. Both sell for 650,000 ₫ on Masstel's store.
In Turkey, Welio lists a "large keypad for the elderly" ("Yaşlılar için büyük tuş takımı") and an SOS key for the Welio T100, a bar phone with no camera. Welio lists 2G only (no 3G or 4G). Its store lists it at ₺2,799 including VAT as of Oct. 15, 2026.
HMD lists the simple S30+ system for the Nokia 3210 4G. HMD's band lists for the 3210 4G and the Nokia 105 4G include none of T-Mobile's Extended Range bands (12 and 71); only the Latin American Nokia 105 4G adds bands 2, 4 and 66. T-Mobile says a phone must support both its bands and its network technology to connect, so check with your carrier before using one in the US. [16][17][18][20][21][22]
Questions people ask
What is the easiest phone for seniors without Google?
We don't rank phones. The Lively Jitterbug Flip3 is the one in our database that its maker sells specifically for older adults in the US, with big backlit buttons, a Help button and HAC 2019 hearing aid compatibility; it works only on Lively's service. TCL's Flip 3 and Flip Pro (Verizon) and Kyocera's DuraXA Equip (unlocked) also list large keys and M4/T4 ratings. [1][2][3][7]
Can I use the Jitterbug Flip3 on Verizon, AT&T or T-Mobile?
No. Lively says the Flip3 requires a Lively plan and "cannot be used with other carriers." [1]
Which flip phones have an SOS button?
Among the phones above: the TCL Flip 3 (external SOS button), the Kyocera DuraXA Equip (programmable SOS key) and the Jitterbug Flip3 (Help button for Lively's Urgent Response, which needs a subscription). The Masstel Fami 8 4G (Vietnam) and Welio T100 (Turkey) have one too, but they aren't sold for US networks. [2][5][8][16][18]
What does M4/T4 mean on a phone?
It's a hearing aid compatibility rating under the older ANSI standard. The FCC says M4 is the best rating for acoustic hearing aids and T4 the best for hearing aids with a telecoil. Phones certified under the newer 2019 standard show conversational gain figures instead. [19]
Sources (23)
- Jitterbug Flip3 64GB Flip Phone for Seniors, Lively. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL Flip 3, TCL. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL FLIP Pro, TCL. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL FLIP 4 5G, TCL. Checked October 15, 2026.
- DuraXA Equip product spec sheet (PDF), Kyocera. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Sunbeam Wireless F1 Pro spec sheet 2026 (PDF), Sunbeam Wireless. Checked October 15, 2026.
- DuraXA Equip Unlocked, Kyocera. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Jitterbug Flip3 User Guide (PDF), Lively. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL FLIP 3 Flip Phone, Verizon. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL FLIP Pro Voice & Text Flip Phone, Verizon. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Device Unlocking Policies, Verizon. Checked October 15, 2026.
- TCL FLIP 4: Prices, Colors, Sizes, Features & Specs, T-Mobile. Checked October 15, 2026.
- SIM Unlock Policy, T-Mobile. Checked October 15, 2026.
- F1 Pro Phones and Accessories, Sunbeam Wireless. Checked October 15, 2026.
- F1 Pro Rugged Dumbphone, Sunbeam Wireless. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Masstel FAMI 8 4G, Masstel. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Masstel IZI T9, Masstel. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Welio T100 Tuşlu Cep Telefonu | Welio Mağaza, Welio Mobile Turkey. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Hearing Aid Compatibility for Wireline Telephones and Wireless Handsets, Federal Communications Commission. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Nokia 3210 specifications, HMD. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Nokia 105 4G (2024) specifications, HMD. Checked October 15, 2026.
- T-Mobile network, T-Mobile. Checked October 15, 2026.
- Ending support for WhatsApp on KaiOS, WhatsApp. Checked October 15, 2026.